I have always loved sports. From the tender age of 5, I always played soccer in my backyard no matter which country I moved to.

I was born in Ghana and stayed there until I was 9. During that time, I bought numerous Liverpool FC kits and kicked many footballs over the fence. They never returned. I also joined a football summer camp there built by Marcel Desailly, who played for the France national team, AC Milan, Marseille and Chelsea.

From Wikipedia

During the few summers I went there, I learnt many basic football skills such as dribbling and shooting properly. Here is a link to the football academy website.

After moving from Ghana to Uganda, I wanted to continue playing football for fun and fitness. I joined my school first team as a center-back (defender) like Marcel Desailly himself. After my second season playing with the school team, I earned the MVP award.

Then, I moved to Senegal. I hoped to keep the streak going and tried out for the football team. I qualified, but for the second team. After training for a few weeks, I was called up for the first team. Here, in Senegal, the first team in 5 schools in West Africa all compete in one of the following host countries: Ghana, Senegal, Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast and Cameroon. This competition is called WAISAL (West African International Schools Activities League). Here is a link to the website.

waisal
From the WAISAL website

I would never want to stop playing soccer in the communities that I am in. I have also found a new love for other sports such as volleyball and would like to play all these sports for as long as I can. Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Sports Groups”

  1. Great post Jasim! Just one thing – where is the link to Wikipedia where I would find that image? I don’t know who that person is, so I wouldn’t know what to search for in Wikipedia.

    1. Hi Miss W,

      Thanks for informing me about the missing information. I have added a hyperlink to the caption of the photo that leads to the website where I got the picture from.

      Thanks again, Jasim.

  2. Hi, my name is Tj. You blog is very interesting. It’s crazy how many times you moved. I like how you said you played soccer since you were 5, and every time you moved you didn’t stop doing what you loved. Most people if they moved most likely May of stopped and not tried out because they think they are going to do bad and embarrass themselves, but you didn’t you went out and you made the team. Overall you blog was fantastic and it made me inspired that if I ever moved to do want I want to do and strive for it. If you would like to read any of my blogs here is my link: http://2021tjh.edublogs.org

  3. This post is very descriptive and shows your passion for soccer. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *